Sign In

CBMM - English



A group of Canadian chemical and materials engineering researchers were named as the recipients of the 2013 Charles Hatchett Award for their paper, "Strengthening Mechanisms and Their Relative Contributions to the Yield Strength of Microalloyed Steels," published in Metallurgical and Materials Transactions in 2012.

Junfang Lu, Oladipo Omotoso, J. Barry Wiskel, Douglas G. Ivey and Hani Henein received the medal during the Annual Dinner and Awards Ceremony of the Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining that was held in London in July. 
The winning paper was presented at the CBMM-sponsored seminar Thermo-Mechanical Controlled Processing - The Role of Niobium, which was hosted by the Royal Society, London.

Now in its 35th year, the prestigious award is bestowed annually to recognize the paper considered by an international panel of experts to be the most important work published on niobium and its alloys. CBMM has sponsored the Charles Hatchett Award since its inception.

Visit CBMM's Charles Hatchett Award page or the award's offici​al website to learn more about the award that is named for the man who discovered niobium.